Equal night

Today is the day of vernal equinox, the day is equally long as the night. After the long darkness it’s heavenly to see the sun early in the morning when the trees are glimmering in the morning frost. The sun rises around here at 6.20am and sets at 6.40pm at this time of the year, but most importantly after today each day will be longer until the end of June when the night is only five hours long.

It is still snowing almost every day, although most of it is sleet. There is an old saying in the Finnish language that the new snow will melt the old, but at this point it sounds a bit corny after being surrounded by huge piles of snow for almost five months. There must be some truth to it though since so far it has always melted by May although it still snows quite often in late April.

Today I’m hugely inspired by a poem called Invitation by Oriah. I first saw it in Annie’s Still Sundays and was instantly fascinated by it. Both of these women are amazingly talented writers and I often find myself in awe at their ability to describe so accurately the things I also feel and have thought of many times without knowing how to put them into words. In the wake of all that overwhelming creative energy I put up this set of photos that I shot about a month ago.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

6 thoughts on “Equal night

  1. Dear Annika,

    Nice to stop by here…your words carry the same energy as your photos: focused, calm, and with a different perspective.

    I liked this a lot: “new snow will melt old snow”… without sounding morbid, it can also mean new pain melts old pain which in some ways means a healing because one realizes one never stopped feeling, which means growing, living….

    I am probably not making sense.

    I really like these set of photos: joy to live being my favorite. Almost want to dust off the snow from the branches!

    I am happy that Oriah’s poem “The invitation” resonated with you. I found it some years back and it changed my perspective or somehow I found a ‘justification’ in the way I had always interacted with people. I don’t know how to talk about superficial things when I meet people. This doesn’t mean the dialogue always has to be ‘personal’ but it can be real. Kind of like snow: it doesn’t always have to stay but it is what it is. : )

    Many thanks for your generous words about my writing too.

    I appreciate our connection very much.

    ~annie

    • Thank you so much for all your support Annie, really appreciate it! Very grateful for the connection and looking forward to your next post! Enjoy your day :)

    • And yes Annie, there is a lot of symbolism in the saying new snow will melt the old snow, somehow connecting with the way in which we direct our attention, it gives us the perfect opportunity to have a fresh start or put the old things aside. When I started to think about that I remembered this poem, which has the opposite meaning I suppose. Not noticing something wonderful when you’re so deep inside your own world.

      I Taught Myself to Live Simply

      I taught myself to live simply and wisely,
      to look at the sky and pray to God,
      and to wander long before evening
      to tire my superfluous worries.
      When the burdocks rustle in the ravine
      and the yellow-red rowanberry cluster droops
      I compose happy verses
      about life’s decay, decay and beauty.
      I come back. The fluffy cat
      licks my palm, purrs so sweetly
      and the fire flares bright
      on the saw-mill turret by the lake.
      Only the cry of a stork landing on the roof
      occasionally breaks the silence.
      If you knock on my door
      I may not even hear.

      ~Anna Akhmatova

  2. annie says:

    Beautiful post annika and the poem is superb. going across to look at annie’s site too. thank you :)

  3. [...] time for autumn equinox I remembered writing about vernal equinox and you can find that post here Equal Night. Just the other day I was talking with students about living in Finland and about what would be [...]

Leave a Reply

