One of World’s Rivers

Some time ago I was contacted by Lee Tracy who asked me if I were interested in taking part in the World Rivers Project. I was immediately interested in the project, and had in fact heard and seen pictures of it before. I had seen a beautiful river quite close to our house and decided right away that I had to include that river in the project. It is a very small river and not many people know about it, but it’s very beautiful and so are the wheat, oat and rye fields around it as well. A friend of mine knew a good place for taking photos, a beautiful rapid that is not too dangerous at this time of the year. So we took our little helpers with us today and drove out there to take some photos.

IMG_5778-homepage

The idea in the World Rivers Project is to dip a white cloth in the river and include that cloth in a huge wall of other cloths dipped in various rivers in the world. The cloth that I decided to use is a thin gauze used for various purposes when taking care of babies. My son and his friend who were there to dip the cloth into the river for me have had their mouths dried with similar cloths, and people also use them as mosquito nets and sun curtains in the prams of babies. Some babies like to hold them when they sleep. I guess you can call gauzes like that the ‘all-purpose’ tool of baby care. I had one left in my closet and I thought it would be perfect for this purpose. Especially since the boys who were with me had just started first grade this week and it seemed like all of a sudden they had changed from little boys to little school boys. At the same time when I was taking part of this world wide project I could also do my own little ceremony which would hopefully help me see my son as a young boy rather than a small baby.

IMG_5786-homepage
The issues around water are very familiar to me. We have plenty of it in Finland but when I was in India I heard people say that soon they will have to fight over it. Does the water that starts flowing in the state of Maharashtra belong to the state of Maharashtra or the state of Goa where it ends up flowing? The Indian state park guides told us that we who have plenty of water are rich and the water we have is more valuable than gold. We Finns are used to thinking that trees are our green gold, but we never knew how valuable water can be. Spending some time in India made us all ashamed of the way in which we shamelessly let the water run down the drains for too long or for no purpose. Seeing our beloved Baltic Sea get polluted to the state it is in now, makes this all seem more real, reminds us of the value of clean water, brings the catastrophes of the world to our door step.

IMG_5862-homepage

Thank you Lee for letting me know of this great project, it is a great pleasure to do this and while doing it we also had a chance to spend a wonderful day by the river Mustijoki. Here‘s the official post and here’s Lee‘s site. I hope you will take time to look into her work as well.

15 thoughts on “One of World’s Rivers

  1. dear annika, I too participated in Lee’s project from Prague as you may recall. Also photographer Jan did one from his village town. I will do one from New York City also. And how exciting our white cloths might just be next to one another! : )

    absolutely amazing photography. so moved.

  2. such beautiful woman power –without ego, without need for friendship even–i sense in the company of you two even right now, from this far away, just in comments alone, I can’t imagine if we took on other projects!

    thank you dear annika for sharing link to my post. you are so gracious and generous.

    lee thank you for connecting real power and magic through water and a cloth.

    annika and i both also have other thoughts on the impact of doing this that we were not expecting, although annika wrote some lovely thoughts here in this post and I tried to do my best in still sundays, but there is more!

    gratitude,

    annie

    1. oh yes, for some things it is so difficult to find words, I have tried to explain it, but it sounds wrong – I will write email to you Lee soon and tell you more about the river and what we felt over there, just letting it all sink in for awhile…
      Annie: so looking forward to those Hudson River shots!

      Really grateful for the connection Annie and Lee! (And yes, I’ve been trying to convince Annie to join G+, but no luck so far…)

  3. I feel inadequate posting comments following artists. I was a high school photographer 20+ years ago. My dream was to be a photographer but I “chose” college instead. I’ve never taken serious photos since then, but seeing your inspirational photos makes me want to go back in time…

  4. Many thanks for your kind words Kwan. Much appreciated. If you like photography, maybe you should start again. I have my job as a teacher and I take photos on my free time – at least so far photography does not pay my bills. Enjoy your weekend!

  5. Thank you for this post, it is touching, and also for drawing our attention towards the water resourses problem in other countries (for example my country – Israel).

  6. Another beautiful post, Annika. I love the first shot in particular. Water is the dreaming symbol for love, and rivers the symbol of unconditional love …. very fitting! Best wishes, Dreams and Zeros!

Leave a Reply

