January in Finland

It has been snowing since Wednesday. After a dark December we can now enjoy snowy January. I have been roaming the  coastline, but since there hasn’t been any direct sunlight, the photos remain quite dark even when shooting during daylight hours.

IMG_5971-www
There is a deer feeder in the forest where I’ve been often lately and today I happened to see three deer running on a slope with snowy trees. It was such a delightful view. I hope to catch some photos of those three some time later. The forest is full of deer marks and it is so enjoyable to follow them. You can see how they’ve been running around enjoying the snow. The snow is about knee-deep at the moment, so with good gear walking in it is not a problem at all. I didn’t bring my snowshoes today but I still managed to walk in places where there weren’t any snowmobile tracks. It is a good work-out though, not to mention the snow-clearing job that was waiting for me in my home yard.

IMG_5985-www

After seeing the deer I decided to go to the same direction they went, figuring they’d show me the best places, and they did. I found a wonderful spot right by the sea on a hill. I’m sure I will go back to that place many times. There were lots of birds in the reeds, I’d love to find out if they were bearded tits, they are not very common around these areas. Maybe I’ll see them also again some time later.

IMG_6014-www

So, this is January in Finland. We’ve got the snow now, hoping we’ll also get some sunlight soon.

ps. We are electing a new president for the country today. It will be a very exciting night, although there will most probably be a second round in the voting. If you are into politics, you can find more info here, but just to give you an inside view: my sons just asked me yesterday whether the president always has to be female. We have had a woman president for 12 years, now the second popular candidate is a man who lives with a man and stands for the Green Party. Very interesting times it is!

11 thoughts on “January in Finland

  1. Very interesting post, Anika! With very nice photos. Your description is so detailed, that one can almost see those deers on the hill and the birds in the reeds. ( Just when I want to see your snowshoes I imagine the felt-boots we used to wear in Belorussia when we were children , though I guess that they are different) Thanks Anika, and wish you that the president that would be elected will be the best for you and your family.

  2. I’m happy for you that you finally have some snow! What would a winter be without it? Not a real winter, in my books…

    When I was growing up, Kekkonen was president (oh boy, now I really date myself here). “Kekkonen” was kind of a synonym for “president”… what a surprise it was that other people could hold the post! 😀

    1. Hi Minna! Thanks for stopping by! Yes, Kekkonen was the president when I was a child. Then the president had lots of power, now Prime Minister has more power than the president here in Finland. My kids think that Halonen is the synonym for president, the 12 years she hold the office is the maximum time for one person. She was re-elected 6 years ago. My sons are 5 and 7.

  3. I love your photos – I can see that they have been taken on a grey day, yet it’s true winter! It’s great that you live so close to nature – I mean being able to read animal tracks and hope to one day catch them with your camera is amazing.

    P.S. I wonder who will be the president. I don’t live that far away (Lithuania) yet I wasn’t aware of the political situation in Finland. A man living with another man, hey? Oh, well, the wordl is changing indeed…

Leave a Reply

