In the Falling Snow

IMG_1957-www

Today rests in silence. Falling snow creates walls between spaces, insulates sound in and between conversations. No use saying anything. No use crossing to the other side. Enough said, enough done. Whereas a child wants reach up to the flakes yet to come, we want to let down our guard in concordance of the falling snow. Easing off the tension in the shoulders, finding a place to sit and enjoy the moment. There is something hypnotizing in the slow snowfall like this, the way there is in a burning fire.

IMG_1845-rajattu-3-www

When I sit among the falling snow I think about Patience. I think about the one who keeps trying until the end of time, fueled by the failures that he encounters. And I think about the one who dares not to try, settling for being the fool, rather than having to face the humiliation of trying and then failing. I think about Justice. The one who believes in honesty and wants to see everyone have their share. Then I think about the one who wants to have it all. The one who eventually succeeds and leaves everyone else in his shadow. Finally I think about Courage. I think about the one who cries out in anger for a missing opportunity, and then I think about the one who did his best to find it for him. And last of all I think about the one who dared to disagree when it was needed for making wrong right.

Turning back home I notice that the snow fall has covered my tracks. I leave my thoughts behind hoping they won’t find their way home. I want to understand but I don’t want to judge, because the more one judges, the less one loves (Honoré de Balzac).

IMG_1946-www

6 thoughts on “In the Falling Snow

  1. I read this several days ago and came back to it today, after I read ‘Delicious Words and Gobbling Up Sentences’.

    ‘In The Falling Snow’ is poetic prose. The careful use of words to reveal a profound enlightenment. “Turning back home I notice that the snow fall has covered my tracks. I leave my thoughts behind hoping they won’t find their way home.” is as precise a composition as your photographs.

    You have a special gift.

    Like

Leave a comment